I’m sort of obsessed with matryoshka dolls (or Russian nesting dolls) and have been for some time. This may be the aftermath of my parents letting me teethe on them when I was a baby… They only realized later how valuable they can be, so they kicked themselves for that later (never mind the possible lead poisoning!). Anyway, aside from being a delicious snack to feed your infant, they are SUPER cute.

Traditional matryoshkas typically have a women as the outer doll, wearing a traditional Russian sarafan. The inside dolls can be either gender, and the smallest doll is typically a baby made from a single piece of wood. People get super creative with them, though – I have a circus animal-themed one that’s my favorite!

The first matryoshka was carved in 1890 by Vasily Zvyozdochkin and the word “matryoshka” means “little matron.” The more you know!

Lately matryoshkas have become fairly trendy, something I relish. Below are my favorite Russian nesting doll-related items. I can’t promise I won’t chew on them.

russian nesting dolls

