I meant to post this last week during Thanksgiving, but I was down in California visiting family.  Since it’s Thanksgiving and one is supposed to reflect on all that they’re thankful for and the bounty in their lives, it seemed icky to post a Lust List for November (not so icky that I won’t post one for December, though!). Instead I will be making a list of the top 5 things in my life I’m thankful for.

1. My husband, M. M and I have been together for over six years now and made it official this past July. When we met I was 19 and he was 25. He was pretty much done maturing, but I still had a little bit (or a lot, depending on who you ask) of growing up to do. I also have my some personal baggage that can might make an ordinary fella run in the other direction. Lucky for me, M is no ordinary fella. He helped form who I am and has loved me in spite of the waiting around he had to do while I finished growing up. The best part is he didn’t even think twice about it or consider it a negative. He’s the most incredible person I’ve ever had the pleasure to know and I feel so honored and fantastically lucky that we’ve found each other.

5.031

2. My mom. My mom is one incredibly lady. When my dad passed away, my mother was left with an unfinished house (Daddy was in the process of building it), a business to run, and an 8-year-old girl mourning her father. On top of that all that, she was mourning the loss of her husband. And now she was a single mom. Talk about pressure. She made it through with grace, dignity, a fully-finished house, a thriving business, and a moderately well-adjusted child who loves her to pieces. It also helps that she’s very easy to talk to, hilarious, and super smart. She is my role model for a strong, courageous female and I love her to bits.

5.256

3. My family. My immediate family is a pretty classic “blended family.” My mom and stepfather met when they were in their late 40’s. Stepdad had 3 children ages 13, 15, and 18. Mom had me (I was 9 at the time). I still remember the first time I met my (step)siblings. Stepdad called them out into the living room from the TV room and they all lined up and introduced themselves. Being teenagers, they were a bit, you know, teenager-y. And being 9, I was pretty shy and also probably a bit annoying. But we’ve all grown up together and formed such a close bond that we have dropped the “step” and simply refer to one another as “brother” or “sister.” Our families have integrated beautifully and I feel lucky to have such a close-knit, supportive group of people who love me so much.

4. My friends. While I don’t have tons of close friends, the ones I do have are pretty remarkable. They are extended family to me and I love each and every one of them so very much. Whether we go to concerts, out shopping, to eat, or are simply texting back and forth, we always have a great time together.

5. My job. While I don’t love my job all the time (who does?), I really enjoy PR and marketing and feel very lucky that I get to do what I love on a daily basis.

So that’s it! That’s what I’m thankful for! The big ones, anyway. I’m also thankful for things like eyeliner and popcorn, but I’m not going to wax nostalgic about them in the same post I’m writing about my husband and family… Seems weird, right?

Holy hot-buttered-flavoring that looks good. Courtesy CNN.com

Holy hot-buttered-flavoring that looks good. Courtesy CNN.com

Happy holidays!

