Every year for Christmas I make my close friends and extended family a bunch of cookies. It is a long process, but one I love doing (I think my family and friends appreciate it, too!). I typically make 3 – 4 cookies and peppermint bark. I like to keep which cookies I’m making a surprise, but thought I’d share one of them on my blog, as well as the recipe!

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m an avid Pinterest fan. I collect thousands upon thousands of recipes, all with the intention of making everything someday. I found this recipe for Caramel Apple Cider cookies on Pinterest and simply could not resist!

The cookies are AMAZEBALLS. The batter is super good, too… or so I’ve heard. I wouldn’t do something so disgusting as to taste uncooked cookie batter. Never.

Image

Image via The Cooking Photographer

Caramel Apple Cider Cookies (adapted from The Cooking Photographer)

1 cup unsalted butter, softened

1 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 (7.4 oz) box Alpine Spiced Apple Cider Instant Original Drink Mix (10 packets)

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

3 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 (14 oz) bag Kraft chewy caramels

  • Preheat oven to 350. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper (not cooking spray or the caramel might stick to the bottom of your cookie sheet).
  • In a small bowl, whisky together flour, baking soda, baking powder, and cinnamon. I used a little extra cinnamon because it is my favorite spice. Cinnamon is the best and, in my opinion, way overrated. See Jerry Seinfeld’s comments for further explanation: “Cinnamon takes a backseat to no babka!”
  • With an electric mixer, cream together butter, sugar, salt, and all 10 packages of apple cider drink mix powder, until light and fluffy.
mixer

A dizzying shot of my beloved KitchenAid Mixer in action.

  • Beat in eggs, one at a time.
  • Add vanilla and mix well.
  • Gradually add flour mixture to the butter/egg mixture. Mix until just combined.
  • Scoop out tennis ball-sized cookie dough balls.
  • Flatten the ball of dough a bit. Press the unwrapped caramel into the center of the dough and seal the dough around it, covering it completely.
caramels

Unwrapping all the caramels will take some time. I sat and watched Dexter while unwrapping mine… Because nothing says Christmas joy like serial killing!

  • Shape the dough in a ball, and place on parchment covered cookie sheets about 3 inches apart (these babies spread).
  • Bake 11 – 14 minutes, or until very lightly browned around the edges. They may not look quite done in the center, but that’s okay.
  • Allow cookies to cool on the parchment. When cookies are cool enough to be firm but still slightly warm, carefully twist off the parchment and allow to finish cooling upside down on the parchment or on a cookie rack.

Makes around 2 – 3 dozen cookies. The directions say to eat at room temperature or slightly warmed up in the microwave. The latter method is way better, as it leaves the caramel all soft and melty.

Just don’t do what I did and leave it in the microwave too long or eat a cookie right out of the oven and burn your tongue.

Happy baking!

