A New Year

I took down the Christmas tree and decorations this afternoon. I always feel a little sad doing this. Christmas is my favorite holiday, and while I feel the post-holiday blues on the 26th, nothing really cements that feeling like taking down Christmas decorations. But I suppose there’s comfort in knowing there’s always another one!

Going back to work after a break and a bunch of holidays spent with loved ones is hard, too. This year I was sort of eased into it, though, since my company gave us the 31st and 1st off, and since those were a Monday and Tuesday, we only had a 3-day workweek. Tomorrow it’s back to the usual grind, though. Le sigh.

Oh well, onward and upward!

Image via Bill Watterson

One thing I like to do each New Year is make resolutions. I like the idea of having a bright, clean slate to work with. Last year’s transgressions are a thing of the past (not that I have any, of course), and everyone can start fresh.

This year I think I have some pretty good ones:

  • I will read one non-school book each month.
  • I will write a blog post at least once a week.
  • I will make my relationships a priority.
  • I will strive for progress, not perfection.
  • I will regulate my sleep schedule.
  • I will continue to eat well and work out regularly.

And my big one…

  • I will be kinder to myself.

This includes not guilting myself or beating myself up if I only work out 5 or 6 days a week instead of 7 or more. It also includes being more realistic about myself and not holding myself up to higher standards that I do everyone else. I’m human, after all…

I think I can do it. I’ve asked M to gently remind me about my resolution if I’m being a jackass to myself. It is harder than it sounds, really, as he had to do it yesterday, only 5 days in to 2013!

M drew this on his computer when we first started dating. It's me kicking ass. I plan to do lots of that in 2013. Bam!

M drew this on his computer when we first started dating. It’s me kicking ass. I plan to do lots of that in 2013. Bam!

What about you? Do you have any resolutions?

