I haven’t posted anything related to my Brownie Face-Off in quite some time, even though I’ve made brownies since posting about the Supernatural Brownies – though most of those brownies were just Supernatural ones. I have tried making black bean brownies recently, though, which I will be sure to post about soon.

Anywho, M had been “gently suggesting” that I bake for him recently. I have a whole cache of brownie recipes on my Brownie Face-Off Pinterest board, so I thought I should start getting to work on that.

As you know, if you follow my blog with ardent regularity (I’m looking at you, no one!), the bench mark upon which I grade my brownies is the Supernatural Brownie. It is uh-maze-ing. Life changing… that is if your life revolves around chocolate, which, lets be honest, mine pretty much does. Here are my Brownie Face-Off parameters:

  1. Moistness – I don’t like cakey brownies. The denser, the better!
  2. Chocolatiness – Must be ultra chocolatey to win my seal of approval.
  3. Lack of coffee – SO MANY recipes call for espresso powder in their brownies. I don’t like this.
  4. Ease – I don’t want anything ridiculously hard to prepare.

Being the organized lady I am, I am going in order down my Pinterest list. So, without further ado, I give you: Fudge Brownies.

Fudge Brownies 

from Miette: Recipes from San Francisco’s Most Charming Pastry Shop by Meg Ray

Ingredients
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon espresso powder (I omitted this because blecky)
  • 1 pound bittersweet chocolate (I also used some semisweet)
  • 2 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cups unsalted butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 5 large eggs, at room temperature
Directions
  1. Line a standard 9 x 13 inch baking pan with parchment paper or spray with cooking spray.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  3. Sift together the flour, baking powder, and espresso powder into a bowl and set aside.

    Image

    Flour and baking powder hanging out.

  4. Melt the chocolate with the sugar, butter, vanilla, and salt in a double boiler or heavy-bottomed pan until completely melted.

    Chocolate + butter + sugar = world peace.

    Chocolate + butter + sugar = world peace.

  5. While still warm, transfer the chocolate mixture to the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment. Mix on low for 30 seconds, then add the eggs, one a time, beating after each addition until well combined.

    Kitchen-Aid Electric Mixer chocolatiness love.

    Kitchen-Aid Electric Mixer chocolatiness love. Also, blurriness. I need to focus my camera more when taking photos of this sort of thing.

  6. Mix in the flour mixture you set aside, then raise the speed to medium and beat for another 30 to 45 seconds until the batter is shiny.

    Mixing cocaine into the brownies.JUST KIDDING! It's just flour and baking powder.Or is it...?It is.

    Mixing cocaine into the brownies.
    JUST KIDDING! It’s just flour and baking powder.
    Or is it…?
    It is.

  7. Scoop the batter into the prepared pan. If the batter is still warm, it will ooze into the cake pan. If it has cooled, use an offset spatula to smooth into place.

    Brownie batter. Perfectly acceptable afternoon snack.

    Brownie batter. Perfectly acceptable afternoon snack.

  8. Bake the brownies until they begin to pull away from the sides of the pan or until a tester inserted in the center comes out clean, about 40 to 45 minutes.
  9. Remove from oven and let brownies cool in the pan for about 20 minutes.
  10. Ideally, cut them while still a tad warm, so as not to break the brownies too much. Serve immediately or keep in airtight container for up to 1 week.

At this point, I was too busy eating them that I forgot to take a picture of the final product, so here’s what they look like from the website I got the recipe from:

Image via Tartine and Apron Strings. She takes way better pictures anyway.

These brownies were really, really delicious. These are legit fudgy, too. But, are they are good as the Supernatural Brownies? M didn’t remember, but he liked that these had a bit of a crust on top, which he didn’t remember the Supernaturals having. I think the Supernatural Brownies are a tad better. So I will rate these a 19/20. Just cause they aren’t quite as amazeballs as the Supernaturals.

But still, go make these. TODAY. RIGHT NOW.

