I’ve been super into ombre lately. Last weekend I went out and bought some lovely turquoise ombre jeans and am contemplating all the different ways in which I’ll wear them.

I also really like the ombre make-up and hair stuff. Ombre hair looks really cool, but I sort of think people might assume I’m just lazy and haven’t bothered to touch up my “roots” in awhile. Ombre nails, on the other hand, look awesome all the time forever.

Anyway, for those interested, ombre in a French term meaning “shaded” which I’d say is pretty accurate. It’s typically a multicolored stripe with colors graduating from light to dark. The color effect can be woven into fabric or dyed to achieve the ombre look. Interestingly, I also found in my research that ombre also is a card game that was popular in 17th and 18th century Europe that old guys played. It’s a three-handed trick-tacking game with a bunch of complicated rules and a ridiculous point-tracking system. Sounds riveting.

I’ll stick to ombre in my clothes.

Ombre

