Okay, I don’t really lust after cats. That’d be weird. But I do love cats quite a bit. They’re cuddly and cute and don’t give two shits about anyone else, usually, unless that anyone is giving them treats or petting them in exactly the right place at exactly the right time.

This post was inspired by a photo my mom sent me this weekend of my kitty Angel lounging by the fireplace at my mom’s house:

Angel being cozy.

Angel being cozy.

Angel is a Maine Coon and is kind of dumb, but he’s a cuddlebutt and loves everyone. He also has the ability to get his hair to stick to ANYTHING AND EVERYTHING. One time my mom’s printer was on the fritz so she had a guy come out to fix it. When he opened it it was TOTALLY FILLED WITH ANGEL HAIR. I don’t know how he did it. He’s probably a wizard.

I also had a kitty named Zoey. I got her when I was 5 with my dad and we sort of forced her on my mom. Mom eventually warmed up to Zoey. Zoey was a pretty typical cat in that she hated everyone except for Mom, me, and a few other people, including M, who is super allergic to cats. She also liked my friend Ali who is also allergic to cats. I think she dug it when people avoided her. Anyway, she was sort of spastic and mean when she was little, and would routinely come scratch and bite people for no reason, but as she aged, she mellowed quite a bit. She also talked a lot. Kitty talk. Unfortunately, as cats tend to do, she died a few years ago at the ripe old age of 18. I love her to pieces and it was surprisingly difficult to say goodbye.

Pretty Zoey.

Pretty Zoey.

Zoey and Angel live(d) with my Mom. When I moved to Seattle for school, I couldn’t have cats in the dorm, then I couldn’t have them in the apartment, and then I moved in with a dude who was stupid allergic. And now I’m married to him and can never have another kitty again unless they’re hypoallergenic and redonk expensive. But I still go back home to visit Angel (and my mom, I guess) every so often without M. If it weren’t for him, though, I’m pretty sure I’d be living with about 10 cats, with black velvet cat paintings on my wall, listening to Cat Stevens (Ha! Joke time!).

Crazy Cat Lady
P.S. I totally own the kitty measuring cups and the black and white cat shirt. Because cats are the best.
