It should come as no surprise: I love to shop. And while I love Nordstrom, Anthropologie, and other boutiques, I’m no snob. My love for a good deal knows no bounds. Ofttimes I’ll walk into Target with a list that says “toilet paper, dishwasher detergent, and tampons,” and then, 60 minutes and $100 later, stumble out of the store with bags full of nail polish, random home decor items, jewelry, body lotion, clothes, a Hello Kitty reusable shopping bag, a jump rope, and, curiously, no toilet paper, dishwasher detergent, or tampons.

Some of my favorite buys have been from H&M, TJ Maxx, etc. I love expensive jeans and designer shoes as much as the next gal, but I also really love a bargain. When someone compliments me on my dress, earrings, etc. and asks me where I got them, I get a kick out of not only telling them I got it at Ross, but that it was $9.99. Then I want to high-five myself for my savvy shopping skills.

All this bargain shopping does lead to some regret – after all, more often than not, you do get what you pay for. But there have been some items that I buy repeatedly and would even spend more for I love them so much (but don’t tell their makers/distributors/whatever that). So, without further ado, I give you my favorite cheapie buys that you should totally go out and buy: bath and beauty edition.

Weleda Skin Food, image via Drugstore.com. $19.00.

Weleda Skin Food. Image via Drugstore.com. $19.00.

Weleda Skin Food – This lotion is amazing. It’s super thick, smells nice, and a little goes a long way. It is for the face and body, but I just use it on my face as a night cream. It leaves my skin looking shiny, but I find that by morning the shine has gone away and I’m let with soft, pretty skin. It’s also not tested on animals – score!

Neutrogena Oil Free Moisture, Sensitive Skin. Image via Drugstore.com

Neutrogena Oil Free Moisture, Sensitive Skin. Image via Drugstore.com

Neutrogena Oil Free Moisture, Sensitive Skin – This is my daytime moisturizer. I tend to have fairly temperamental skin – a strong ingredient or weird chemical will make it angry and blotchy in spots for weeks at a time. This moisturizer moisturizes (duh), but is super gentle and oil-free. It also doesn’t clog pores, contains no alcohol, and is fragrance free. One pump covers my whole face. I only wish it had an SPF, but I stay out of the sun for the most part anyway, so until the day comes when Neutrogena makes an oil-free moisturizer with SPF for sensitive skin, I’ll stick to big sunglasses.

Almay Eye Makeup Remover Pads, Moisturizing. Image via Drugstore.com

Almay Eye Makeup Remover Pads, Moisturizing. Image via Drugstore.com

Almay Eye Makeup Remover Pads, Moisturizing – I love me some eyeliner and mascara. I also love that eyeliner and mascara to be waterproof, sweat-proof, smear- and budge-proof. These attributes require more than just a little face wash to get the stuff off my skin at the end of the day, though, and that’s where this makeup remover comes in. It is fantastic at quickly removing eyeshadow, eyeliner, mascara, concealer, whatever lickety split. It leaves a fairly oily (or as Almay likes to call it, “moisturizing”) residue, but that’s easily remedied with face wash…

Neutrogena Oil-Free Cream Cleanser. Image via Drugstore.com

Neutrogena Oil-Free Cream Cleanser. Image via Drugstore.com

Neutrogena Oil-Free Cream Cleanser – Thankfully, I don’t really have acne, but Neutrogena’s Oil-Free Acne Wash really gets my face feeling clean without causing dryness. The smell is sort of medicinal, but in a fresh way that I enjoy. It cuts through sweat after a run and any leftover makeup remover pad residue.

Queen Helene Mint Julet Masque. Image via Drugstore.com

Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque. Image via Drugstore.com

Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque – Oh, Queen Helene, you’re a classic for a reason. This bright green clay mask was so much fun to put on at slumber parties when I was younger! I still use it today when I’m feeling oilier/zittier than usual, and it sops up all the extra ickiness. The mint also makes your skin feel cool and tingly. Plus, it’s still super fun.

Trader Joe's Coconut Body Butter. Image via Amazon.com.

Trader Joe’s Coconut Body Butter. Image via Amazon.com.

Trader Joe’s Coconut Body Butter – This is one my most recent acquisitions and I am obsessed with it. When I was in Palm Springs last month, my cousin emerged from the bathroom smelling lovely, and when I asked about what the scent was, she told me it was from her body butter. Her body butter from Trader Joe’s! The same place I get my granola! I snapped it up as soon as I got back to Seattle and am now proud to say that I smell like coconut cookies and am all soft. GO BUY IT.

Carmex. Image via Carmex.com.

Carmex. Image via MyCarmex.com.

Carmex Everyday Soothing Lip Balm – I love my Carmex! It doesn’t taste good and the smell is minty, but in a medicinal way, but it’s the best damn lip balm I’ve come across. My lips are a bit on the dry side, and I lick them a fair amount, drying them out even more. Carmex moisturizes them for a long time and makes them feel tingly with camphor and menthol. It’s also not super sticky, so my hair doesn’t get stuck and I don’t feel all gloppy. M will even kiss me with this stuff on, which he doesn’t like to do with other lip balms.

Heel to Toe Moisturizing Therapy Foot Repair. Image via SallyBeauty.com

Heel to Toe Moisturizing Therapy Foot Repair. Image via SallyBeauty.com

Swissco Natural Pumice Stone. Image via Drugstore.com

Swissco Natural Pumice Stone. Image via Drugstore.com

Heel to Toe Moisturizing Therapy Foot Repair and Swissco Natural Pumice Stone – Feet, in general, aren’t cute. Unless you’re into feet, in which case they are, but I’m not, so they remain uncute. I do make an effort to treat them nicely (especially considering running has a tendency to beat them up) and make them look pretty, which is where this pumice and lotion come in. Before bed every week or two I like to pumice the ever loving shit out of them to get off any dry, crackly bits, lube them up with this lotion, put on some cotton socks, and hop in bed. Come morning my tootsies are looking pretty fabulous – though not cute, never cute. But closer than before. A pumice stone is pretty much the same wherever you get it (though they are WAY better than those foot files, and I assume they are better than PedEggs – I’ve never tried one because I want to keep being able to eat shredded cheese), but this lotion is different than most foot lotions because it doesn’t smell like mint. Mint is all well and good, but I get tired of it in my foot lotions. This one smells clean and is nice and thick, but not greasy and gross.

Fin. Now go buy things!

