“Beans? In brownies?”

Yes, pals, you heard that right. In my attempt to find the best brownie out there, I am leaving no stone unturned, and that includes the low-carb black bean brownie that I’ve seen floating around the internet. As much as I love beans (gimme a bowl of chickpeas and I’m a happy camper), the idea of mixing beans and chocolate reminds me of when I was a kid and would combine random ingredients from the kitchen cupboards, cook it up, eat it, and (surprisingly) not die. Sometimes I even tried to convince myself what I was eating was tasty.

It wasn’t.

Things like cans of corn,  blue food coloring, tarragon, and a bunch of flour and cinnamon don’t typically turn into culinary masterpieces.

So with that in mind, I attempted the black bean brownie. Wish me luck!

Flourless Brownies adapted from Whole Foods

1 15-ounce can black beans, drained and rinsed

2 eggs

2 egg whites

1/4 cup melted butter

1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon cocoa powder

1 teaspoon vanilla

2/3 cup sugar

1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

2. Grease an 8-inch baking pan.

3. Place all the ingredients (except the chocolate chips) in a food processor – I used my trusty VitaMix. Blend until smooth.

brownie mix

Pre VitaMixing.

Wheeeeee!!!

Wheeeeee!!!

Ingredients all mixed and cozy.

Ingredients all mixed and cozy.

4. Transfer mixture to the prepared pan. Sprinkle chocolate chips on top.

Chocolatey.

Chocolatey.

5. Bake for 30 – 35 minutes, or until just firm in the middle.

6. Let cool before cutting into squares.

They look delicious, right?

black bean brownies

LIAR BROWNIES.

Well they aren’t.

In terms of my criteria, they meet all of it for the most part: They are moist, easy to make, and reasonably chocolaty. But they also taste like beans. Chocolate and beans just don’t go together. Unless you’re avoiding grains, are on a low-carb diet, or hate your tastebuds, I’d stick to regular, delicious brownie recipes that don’t include legumes.

That being said, they weren’t awful – I didn’t want to vomit or anything. They just weren’t tasty. I threw them out after taking photos. What a waste of perfectly good chocolate.

10/20.

