My love affair with macarons began last year on a work trip to New York. I had an afternoon to myself, so I strolled through Central Park, down 5th Avenue, had a lovely lunch at Alice’s Tea Cup, and then visited Laduree. Laduree is a French luxury bakery known for making macarons for over 150 years. They started out in Paris but have a shop in Manhattan, as well as some other choice locations around the world. I had heard great things about Laduree, and being the consummate sweet tooth, I decided to pop in.

NY's Laduree shop window. Image via Ritournelle.

NY’s Laduree shop window. Image via Ritournelle.

Hoo boy. Those babies were delicious. And they come in so many flavors! My favorites were chocolate (duh), salted caramel, strawberry, vanilla, and lemon. if you’re ever in New York (or Paris), make it a point to stop in.

One interesting fact I feel the need to share: The McDonald’s in France sell macarons! A lot of the advertising liken them to hamburgers. Weird.

Anyway, my love for macarons has led me on a chase through Seattle to find any approximation of Laduree’s loveliness. While none have been quite the same, Bakery Nouveau and Le Panier have come very, very close and are still very, very delicious. My love has also led me to some pretty, frou frou macaron-inspired items that I am currently coveting for this month’s Lust Objects.

Macarons

Ooh la la!

