photo 1

All this time I’ve been baking recipes that I’ve found on the internet when I realized I have quite the collection of physical cookbooks in my kitchen – surely some of them must have brownie recipes! After pouring over all of them, I found quite a few promising contenders. And seeing as how I have a tendency to collect cookbooks and never really cook from them, I figured it was time to break that bad habit.

The first recipe I’m working on is from a cookbook I picked up on sale at Barnes & Noble a few years ago: Pig OutThe name really says it all.

Image via MQ Publications.

Image via MQ Publications.

Chocolate Chunk Brownies recipe adapted from Pig Out.

Serves 18

3/4 cup unsalted butter

4 oz good-quality semisweet chocolate, broken into pieces

1 3/4 cups sugar

3 eggs

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp salt

6 oz semisweet or milk chocolate chips

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Lightly grease a 9×13″ pan.

2. In a saucepan, melt the butter and semisweet chocolate pieces over low heat, stirring frequently. Remove from heat and stir in the sugar until it is dissolved. Set aside to cool slightly.

3. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Stir in the flour, vanilla extract, and salt until just blended, then fold in the chocolate chips. Evenly spread the mixture in the pan, pushing into the corners.

My absolutely favorite vanilla extract EVER. Yes, I have a favorite VE. I'm a nerd.

My absolutely favorite vanilla extract EVER. Yes, I have a favorite VE. I’m a nerd.

4. Bake until set: the top will be shiny and a toothpick inserted into the center will come out with a few wet crumbs still attached. This was 25 minutes for me – make sure not to overbake!

5. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely, then cut into squares.

Perfect crackly top! Not perfect taste, though.

Perfect crackly top! Not perfect taste, though.

Now, the final product:

photo 2

I’d give this recipe a 15/20. They were good, but not great. I certainly don’t want to pig out on them. They reminded me of the kind of brownie you’d buy at the grocery store – nothing special, but it gets the job done. Definitely not a contender.

