Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll (which was actually a pseudonym – his real name was Charles Lutwidge Dodgson. I’d have changed it, too) is a fabulous book. It tells the story of a young girl named Alice who falls down a rabbit hole and goes on crazy adventures with wacky characters. I read the book as a little girl and have loved it ever since.  I recently found at a used book store a book containing Carroll’s notes and personal photos that served as inspiration for Alice. That led me to this month’s lust object post!

In addition to the story, I also really loved John Tenniel’s artwork that accompanies the book – he created 42 wood engraved pieces for the published version of the book.

The 1951 Disney adaptation is one of my favorite movies of all time, as well. I love the colors, the story (duh), and the way the characters interact with each other. I watched the movie as a little girl and have continued to watch it periodically into my adulthood.

As a Song of Ice and Fire fan, I also can’t help be notice what that series and Alice have in common: The War of the Roses. The War of Roses was pretty inspirational to GRRM in writing ASOIAF  (Lancaster/Lannister, York/Stark, etc.), and it seems that Carroll took something from that as well: The Queen of Hearts hates white-rose trees. After some cards accidentally plant a white-rose tree, they are seen painting the white roses red to appease their queen. Red roses were the symbol of the English House of Lancaster and white roses were the symbol of the rival House of York.

Just some nerd stuff for you.

Anyway! Let’s get to the fun stuff, shall we?

Alice in Wonderland

