February has been a very busy month for yours truly. I’ve had lots of job interviews, birthdays (mine is in three days – yay!), family gatherings, social calls, etc. I’ve also written a few papers for school and done my regular classwork on top of that. Then there was Valentine’s Day, in which I made M a big pile of delicious heart-shaped cinnamon chips cookies. He loved them, but has put me on a cookie-baking hiatus for the time being, as he doesn’t want to explode. I agreed.

Brownies, however, are not cookies. Therefore, they’re fair game!

In this installment of The Brownie Face-Off, I baked some classic chocolate brownies from the Mast Brother’s cookbook. I received it as a gift this past Christmas and have been enjoying it quite a bit. It’s filled with some amazing recipes and beautiful photography.

mast brothers cookbook, mast brothers chocolate

Image via Little, Brown and Company.

Classic Chocolate Brownies adapted from Mast Brothers Chocolate: A Family Cookbook

12 ounces dark chocolate, chopped
3/4 cup unsalted butter
1 3/4 cups brown sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla
5 eggs
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon sea salt

Preheat oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit. Butter a 9″ x 13″ baking pan.

Melt chocolate, buter, and brown sugar in a saucepan over low heat.

Add vanilla to mixture.

Add eggs and combine until smooth.

Add flour, baking powder, and salt.

Mix until batter is well blended.

Pour into baking pan.

Bake for 30 minutes.

Let cool, and cut into square.

brownies, mast brothers

Two of my greatest loves: Brownies and matryoshkas!

These brownies were delicious – extremely moist and very chocolatey. The recipe is extremely simple to make, too. But, they are not quite as delicious as The Baked.

I’m beginning to wonder if there even is a brownie better than The Baked. It seems almost impossible for a brownie to be more chocolatey, more moist, and more amazing… But I will continue in my endeavor. For scientific reasons, not chocolate ones.

